Five More Films Added to Steve’s 2011 Rankings

I’ve added five more movies to my 2011 rankings, ranging from the spectacular Melancholia that came in at number 2 to the disappointing Carnage that limped in at number 45. I’ve posted reviews of Melancholia and Young Adult, both of which I highly recommend. The Skin I Live In and Martha Marcy May Marlene are both basically thrillers that strive to be something more. They both succeed fairly well as thrillers, but their stories may not be deep enough to succeed in being much more than that. Still, both are worth seeing. I was hoping for an acting tour de force in Carnage, but here the story definitely didn’t give the actors enough to work with. I’d recommend skipping this one.

Leave a Reply

