Bill’s Top Ten List


Well… I figured it was about time to get out a list.  Steve is so good at composing these lists of movies…whether they be lists of Oscar movies or just his own personal favorites.  I needed to make a list of the top ten movies of all time.

Steve’s list was great…but to be honest I haven’t seen most of those movies WILLINGLY more than once(I am forced to watch Wizard of Oz every year at Thanksgiving…so it doesn’t count.).  I designed my list to be movies(and sometimes movie series) that I would willingly sit down and watch again.  And they’re in order too…

#10… Harry Potter!  Though the books are substancially better than the movies could ever be, the movies have brought the characters to life in a way that the books never could for me.  And with a story of death and resurrection built into every single one of them…I’d have to put the whole series on my list.

#9… Avatar! My co-blogger may disagree about this…but I thought Avatar was an excellent movie that highlighted what could have happened if Jesus had taken the glory road instead of the road to the cross. If Jesus had led the people of Israel against the Romans…we’d have had Avatar! Still this movie is great in illustrating what most see as the Messiah. And the visual effects are AMAZING!

#8…Finding Nemo.  Talk about a powerful faith story about a father who goes in search for his son and the fact that he never gives up.  Never!  Until he finds him!  Boy that story sounds strangely familiar… Still I would watch this movie over and over again and still choke up!

#7… Monty Python &the Holy Grail… I’m surprised Steve forgot this classic!  What’s not to love.  There’s great one-liners all over the place.  I can quote most of this movie to you right now!  My favorite part… the Holy Handgrenade!  Hillarious!!

#6… Titanic!  Another classic by James Cameron!  When it was in the theaters I saw it 9 times!  Really.  And why not?  What’s not to love.  It has disaster and a killer romantic story.  Not to mention the sacrifice at the end of the movie!

#5…Sweeny Todd and the Demon Barber of Fleet Street.  When you combine my favorite director(Tim Burton) with my favorite actor(Johnny Depp) you’re bound to get something great!  This one rocks!  The story itself takes the price of revenge to a whole new level!  And there’s some great faith-filled one-liners too.  Forgive your neighbor…or wind up like Mr. Todd.

#4…The Star Trek Movies!  Okay…these don’t have as much faith value as I usually like…but I still like to watch them over and over again.  And I still go to those crazy conventions and dress up as William Riker.  (Oh did I say that outloud…)  🙂

#3…  Dune!.. This sci-fi movie is a classic story of a Messiah gone violent.  If you haven’t seen this 80’s flick, pick it up sometime.  The special effects might be dated and the story strangely familiar…but the movie is spot on. Plus you get to see Patrick Stewart pre-Star Trek. (Did he ever have hair?)

#2… The Lord of the Rings! Awesome visual effects! Great translation of the book into the movie. And a movie series period that has so many faith-full implications! If you haven’t watched this tale of redemption by the littlest folk, check it out today.

And the #1 Movie of all time is… STAR WARS!  This series you have to watch back to back because they are designed to be chapters in a story…not movies to be watched seperately.  And what’s not to love about them either.  There’s a fall from grace, a death and resurrection.  There’s the Son saving the Father.  There’s lightsabers and fierce battles.  And there’s cute little Ewoks and Gungans.  What more can you ask for from a movie series!?

So… what do you think?  Comment away!  Tell us what movies you watch over and over again?  What would you put as your top-ten?

Leave a Reply

