Ranking the 2010 Best Picture Nominees by Steve

As the 2010 Oscars ride off into the sunset (thanks for nothing, James Franco!), I’ll bid them adieu by posting my rankings of the Best Picture nominees.  I still haven’t seen 127 Hours yet, so I’ll update the post when I do.  It’s available on Netflix at the end of the month, so I’ll see it then.  I sure hope that Franco is better in the movie than he was on the aforementioned Oscars.

Drum roll, please…

1. Black Swan – This movie drew me in like no other this year.  I’ll write a reflection soon on why I found it to be such a fulfilling movie experience.

2. Social Network – Among other things, Jesse Eisenberg was incredible!

3. True Grit – Blows the original away.  I love the Coen brothers!  A reflection on their movies soon, also.

4. The King’s Speech – I wanted to dislike it, but I couldn’t.  I cried…a lot.  Another coming attraction: a reflection on why I like to cry at the movies.

5. Winter’s Bone – Among other things, Jennifer Lawrence was incredible!

6. The Kids Are Alright – It was certainly more than alright.  I laughed, I cried.

7. The Fighter – Great performances by the leads, but the bizarre sisters nearly ruined it for me.

8. Inception – A reflection coming on why this was the most disappointing movie of the year.

9. Toy Story 3 – With our son going off to college, it certainly hit home and there was much that I liked, such as the prison camp movie references.  Yet much of it was simply fluff and some of it was interminable.  I couldn’t wait for the extended escape sequence to be over.  Alright, I’ll confess, I was hoping they would all burn up in the incinerator so we could be done with it!

So there you have it.  Now on to the magical movie moments of 2011.

Leave a Reply

